Complete Guide To ITIL4 Certification

The ITIL framework started in 1980 to manage IT organizations to provide IT customers, by adopting good practices. Further to the development of technology and customer requirements, ITIL keeps on updating to cope up with the changes. During the recent research, it is noted that ITIL 4 is vital to enable data strategies. Knowing the importance of ITSM, great inputs were made for the creation of ITIL4.


Evolution of ITIL V2 to ITIL V3


ITIL V 3 Was released in 2007 and later updated in 2011 which includes incident management, service desk, service level management, capacity management, IT service management, release management and configuration management. The new items IT service management lifecycle consists of operation, transition, design, strategy and improvement.


Evolution of ITIL V3 to ITIL 4


ITIL 4 is the upgrade from ITIL V3 without any replacement in the basic ideas. ITIL4 includes additional modern services to fulfil the customers’ requirements. As mentioned above, ITIL V3 has five life cycles, whereas in ITIL4 service value chain (SVC) has to plan, improve, engage, transition, build and support. Furthermore, the four service design in ITIL V3 is changed to four dimensions of service management.


Descriptions of ITIL4 Certifications


It is mandatory to understand the basic concept of ITIL 4 four dimensions of service management such as People and organization, technology and information, suppliers and partners, processes and value streams. This helps in management, design, delivery and planning of service.


ITIL 4 certification course has ITIL 4 Foundation exam and linked certification. ITIL 4 intermediate course is usually conducted for three days. The students who hold 24 PDUs for ITIL 4 intermediate course. It briefly elaborates, as shown below.



  1. ITIL specialist – create, deliver, and Support (CDS)


This suits well for IT professionals at any level. The course covers people, management and business concepts. This course explains the culture of the organization’s impact on IT and also in business. CDS will cover how to cope up with the new technology and provide the product with technical support.


  1. ITIL specialist – drive stakeholder value


DSV courses support the personnel for managing stakeholders, focus on the customer experience and responsibility to obtain value realization. The course includes seven steps such as explore, engage, offer, agree, onboard, co-create and realize. Furthermore, this course covers business analysis, portfolio management, service catalogue management, service desk, service level management, supplier management and relationship management.


  1. ITIL specialist – High velocity IT


High velocity IT department is mandatory for an organization to be successful. This course will educate about digital transformation with IT practices and characteristics, culture requirements and techniques. The professionals like cloud architects, DevOps engineers, scrum teams, scrum masters can attend. This course is conducted for three days covering Lean, Agile, Resilient, and Continuous. The five objectives are valuable investments, fast developments, resilient operations, co-created value and assured conformance.


  1. ITIL strategist – Direct, plan and improve

DPI enhances the lifecycle and covers controls, strategy, governance, continual in culture improvement. The course covers strategy and direction, measurement and reporting, continual improvement, developing a service value system.


  1. ITIL leader – Digital and IT strategy

DITS will focus on strategic management. This helps to create a culture in innovation, empower the team and for the flourishing of organization.

Upon completing three ITIL specialist and ITIL strategist will lead to obtaining ITIL Managing professional. However, ITIL Leader and ITIL Strategist will give way to obtain ITIL strategic leader (SL). ITIL 4 foundation exams are conducted for sixty minutes and with forty multiple-choice questions. The passing score is 65%, and four types of questions are asked.

Overall, ITIL 4 courses will enhance personal development and prove their ability in the IT industry.


Leave a Comment